All Around Bustletown Winter


Kids will cozy up for hours of fun as they peruse this joyfully illustrated book that shows the endless ways winter takes hold in a busy, charming town.

Winter has arrived and everywhere you look people are embracing the season. At home there's baking, reading, and sleeping in, while on the farm the fields are fallow and quiet. Outside people are bundled up against the cold as they are skating, sledding, and running to catch a crowded bus. The town's buildings are alive with activity--piano lessons, a dentist appointment, shopping for presents, and visiting the museum. And if you look closer, you'll recognize the same characters on page after page, each with their own story. Wilfred the jogger has lost his keys, and Erica is shopping for a Christmas tree. Each minutely detailed scene is bursting with different people, such as a cheerful lady with an umbrella and a young violinist, as well as animals and birds. In the tradition of Richard Scarry and Where's Waldo, this book encourages kids to return again and again to these charming spreads, following along with the characters and inventing their own stories. They'll recognize parts of their own world, while also learning about the endless ways we live, work, and play in the winter.

The 411:

As a kid I love Richard Scarry books. All Around Bustletown Winter reminded me of those beloved books. I use to look at them all the time and point to all the tiny characters and talk about what they are doing. My preschool class did exactly the same thing. They wanted to talk about the characters on each page AND the illustrations are incredible. There is so much to look at. So much detail on each and every page. My class loved finding the same characters over and over on each page.

I love these books for kids who can read or who can't. 





To Purchase:



Disclaimer: I received a complimentary product for my honest opinion. No monetary compensation was offered.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments. Please feel free to leave a comment. I would love to talk to you further

Get widget
Dear Readers: At this time all giveaways on Maria's Space are for the United States unless otherwise noted.